Rocky Mountain “Hi!”

Jake and his research poster

Jake and his research poster

At my REU in Golden, Colorado, I gained experience in research, industry, and life.   The program was funded by the National Science Foundation and focused on metallurgical aspects of MSE.  I worked alongside a professor, Emmanuel De Moor from the Colorado School of Mines and senior scientists at the National Institute of Standards and Technology: alumni from OSU and from Northwestern. Talk about a great group!

We evaluated 4 alloys for their compliance with a new code: Fire Resistance of structural steels. Basically, it was a lot of elevated temperature tensile testing and microscopy. I gained experience in both, but focused more on characterization. One of my pearlite images is even being entered into a competition at the Microscopy & Microanalysis conference!

At the end of the summer, we had a poster session and mine was judged in the top 5 out of 60.

Work was not the only thing that occupied my time, of course. The students I lived with at Mines Park were very adventurous. We visited Denver for Colorado Rockies games and concerts, hiked 14,000+ ft. mountains, went skydiving from 18,000+ ft., took a few local brewery tours, and played some golf.

Enjoying Colorado

What did I learn from this experience?
* I love the outdoors.
* Heights aren’t such a big deal anymore.
* Grad school is definitely the next step in my life.
One Response to Rocky Mountain “Hi!”

  1. Wonderful blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article?
    I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get feedback from other experienced
    individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Bless you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 407 other followers

