Research internship in Germany

Colin, an OSU MSE junior, spent this past summer as an intern for Bodycote Kolsterising.  Here is some information about his work, though he doesn’t say anything about the lederhosen!

Bodycote is an engineering firm that specializes in low temperature diffusion of carbon into stainless steel.  I worked at the regional plant in London, Ohio, during the summer of 2012, and was asked to return for the summer of 2013.  Thus, during the summer of 2013 I went to Germany as an intern and researcher for Bodycote Kolsterising.

Colin at the Bodensee, also known as Lake Constance.

Colin at the Bodensee, also known as Lake Constance.

My goal as researcher for Bodycote was to find a better cleaning method for Kolsterised samples.  After Bodycote’s proprietary Kolsterising process, the stainless steel is left with a dull brown coloring, instead of the shiny metallic luster normally associated with stainless steel.  Bodycote has an in-house cleaning process that was yielding unsatisfactory results. It was my task to remedy this.

I first arrived in Landsberg Am Lech, Germany, where I spent a week studying the current cleaning process at the Kolsterising plant.  I spent the remainder of the summer in Konstanz, where I performed independent research within the Department of Materials Research at HTWG Konstanz, under the guidance of Dr. Paul Gumpel.  I was responsible for the design, data collection, and analysis of my testing.  After five weeks of testing, I had created my own cleaning process that showed promising results.  During the remaining 5 weeks, I optimized and analyzed the results of my cleaning process.

Colin rocking the Bavarian party attire

Results indicated that the new process created optically cleaner parts that were more corrosion-resistant than the current cleaning process.  At the end of my stay, I presented my findings to the VP and European sales of Bodycote who are now trying to implement my cleaning process into their plants.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 392 other followers

