Spring Break and “The Commute”

Instead of going south for spring break, I went (sort of) north to Chicago. I even did some things that engineers might be interested in. We went to the Lego store on Michigan Avenue, which was amazing! I got to see a huge Darth Vader made of Legos, so of course I took his picture. He had to be at least six and a half feet tall! My boyfriend and I felt so out of place in the store – dozens of little kids were running around, and then there were us two big engineer kids! In any case, it was fun, and I managed to make it out of the store without buying a giant Death Star Lego set… 

3388478043_e64c4239d5_o

We also went to the Museum of Science and Industry, which is a wonderful museum. It reminds me of an even better version of the old COSI, which if you’ve lived in Columbus long enough you probably remember. This is the second time we’ve been and I still haven’t come close to seeing all the exhibits there. There are tons of exhibits, activities and hands-on demonstrations. The highlight of the museum is the German U-505 U-boat exhibit. It was captured by the Americans in WWII, and then Chicago saved it from being used for target practice after the war was over. The museum kept it outside for years before realizing that the hull of the submarine was being eroded outside. The museum decided to basically build a whole room around the submarine so that it could be restored and made an exhibit. It’s quite a sight to see and you can even go inside the sub! 

DSCN2232

Getting back into the school routine after break is hard, but for me it’s especially hard after spring break. Since the break is only a little over a week, it feels weird to come back to school and be in totally different classes. I seem to go through the first week of every quarter being in kind of a state of shock. Somehow, every class seems harder and more confusing in the first week. Maybe it’s because I’m just not used to the classes yet, but I seem to adjust after a few days.

Since I’m on the subject of getting back into my school routine, I figured I would describe my daily commute to school. I live with my parents, which is about 30 miles away from campus, so I drive in every day. Commuting really is tough, and I think it requires a certain amount of planning. I can’t just roll out of bed and walk to class; instead I have to plan how early I need to get up to shower, eat, etc. before leaving, plus budget in a little extra driving time in case of traffic problems. This makes it hard to schedule classes early in the morning, although I have to sometimes. I try to avoid 8:30 classes since that means I have to wake up about 6 AM…too early for me! Even though commuting is hard and annoying sometimes, I really wouldn’t want it any other way. I love living at home and (I think) my parents love me being at home too. It’s great to have a house to come home to at the end of the day, and I like being so close to my parents and my four cats! I also am fortunate enough to live in the same town as my boyfriend and two other friends, so we’re kind of our own little commuting support group. My only complaint about commuting really is that there aren’t enough places around campus for us to hang out between classes. Since I can’t exactly walk/drive home between classes, I end up either sitting in a classroom building or sitting in my car. One good thing about this is that I end up working on homework and studying in my breaks between classes, which I probably wouldn’t do if I could go home and relax. 

And finally, here’s this post’s fun/interesting fact. Actually this time it isn’t a fact, but a video called “An Engineer’s Guide to Cats”. Happy spring quarter to everyone!


Leave a Reply

