February Already!

I’m in kind of a state of disbelief that it’s February already and week 5 of winter quarter! For me, it’s gone by really fast, which is good because I dislike winter quarter! The abundance of cold and lack of daylight both really bother me. It seems like I spend more and more time studying as each quarter goes by – which is probably good, but it’s really stressful to basically come home every night and do homework, study or do a lab report(grrr) until going to bed! Still, it truly is rewarding when I think about how much I’ve learned and how far I have come as a student since I switched to MSE =)

My job as a Microsoft Student Partner has been going really well! I hosted a Windows 7 load fest in November that over 300 people attended; I was shocked! People brought in their laptops (and even desktops and Macs) and we helped them install Windows 7. I also gave a presentation to about 15 faculty members in January showcasing the features of our OSU student email accounts. Faculty sure are a talkative and opinionated group – it was *so* nerve-wracking to be giving a presentation to them! I got through it though which was great! What I’m working on currently for Microsoft is promoting Students2Business, which is a search site for jobs and internships (including engineering and technology related jobs) from over 15,000 companies. You can register at http://s2b.experience.com!

And lastly, here’s my “Cool Engineering Fact” for this post. Over the break, I taught myself how to crochet and made an awesome scarf! For those of you who don’t know, it is basically similar to knitting except that one hook is used to hold the yarn instead of two knitting needles. While crocheting doesn’t really seem like science at first, I actually found through my reading that crocheting is structurally superior to knitting! Here’s how it works: In knitting, each stitch is supported by the stitches in the rows above and below it, while in crocheting a stitch is only supported by the stitches on either side of it. So if a stitch breaks in a knit piece, the whole piece may start to unravel. If a stitch breaks in a crocheted piece, the piece stays intact! I thought that was pretty cool =) Here’s my scarf!

DSCN2788


Leave a Reply

