MSE Honda Internship and Winner

Summer internship report from Kelvin, MSE 3rd-year.

I spent the past few months interning at Honda R&D Americas Inc. in Marysville, Ohio, and my experience was great. Honda produces primarily automobiles, motorcycles, and ATVs. The work I do involves the quality of paints applied to the vehicles.

Dr. Nitin Padture and Kelvin

I learned the many meticulous tests that go into choosing paint (base, coat, and primer) from suppliers for current and future vehicles. Before a paint combination can be put into mass production, it must meet all durability and quality requirements set by Honda. Selected paints must be able to withstand the daily abuse of a car such as acid rain and pelting of small rocks. I also aided associates with projects outside of my main research area when possible. This involved going to factories to run tests, preparing test samples, or shipping items to suppliers. Some of the most interesting things I did involved taking measurements in essentially a car oven/freezer at -30°C and 80°C.

I stayed at an off-campus apartment at Ohio State this summer, which gave me a 45-minute drive to work. I could arrive anytime from 6:00-10:00 AM, so the long window of clock-in time definitely helped for the mornings I hit snooze for an hour or two past my expected departure time. I had a few hours of time to myself after work so I decided to take up softball with our department team. I am not necessarily a baseball fan but softball was enjoyable. Most of my co-workers were under 30 years old and this made it extremely easy for me to get along with them.

This summer internship has provided me with valuable work experience that will be useful as I continue at OSU and after graduation. It gave me a taste of what the real world will be like after college. I would encourage all to take an internship if they have the chance. It will pay off greatly in the future.

NOTE: Kelvin was on the winning team for the Materials category in the Honda iDream student competition this summer.  He is pictured here with his faculty and project advisor Prof. Nitin Padture.


Leave a Reply

