She won’t get foiled again!

MSE Senior Courtney, reporting on her co-op with PCC Airfoils.

Courtney is co-op'ing with PCC Airfoils

I am currently working at PCC Airfoils SMP plant in Wickliffe, Ohio.  In simple terms, we make pieces for jet engines. And any good materials scientist knows how hot jet engines get and how the pieces inside need to be able to withstand said high temperatures.

My co-op started in July and will continue until the end of the year. My official title is “process engineering co-op,” which means I work with a process engineer.  Unfortunately my mentor is a Michigan fan and we disagree on all things Ohio State! But I still wear my scarlet and gray on Fridays.

The coolest thing about my position is that get to work with GE Aviation and all of their partners.  For example, I help with the land-based engines for Nuovo Pignone which is a GE Italian partner.  I really like being able to “flex” my metallurgical muscles.  You don’t realize how helpful certain classes are until you are able to explain solidification to your office mates.

My biggest fear starting my co-op was that I wouldn’t deliver what they hired me to do. That feeling disappeared after day one. The most surprising thing for me was that I actually like working in an industrial plant atmosphere. Plant life is not very glamorous; however wearing jeans and steel toes everyday isn’t bad. And the people who work on the floor are absolutely amazing and I think I would miss that working in an office environment.

This has been an amazing experience for me, because I have learned so much about what it is like to be a real working engineer and I have gained so much confidence in myself as an engineer.


Leave a Reply

