Go, Team!

For the past three summers, MSE 3rd-year student Tiffiny has interned at Babcock & Wilcox — Nuclear Operations Group, in the following departments: Environmental, Health, and Safety, Materials Engineering, and Industrial Engineering/Manufacturing Management.

Here’s what she says about her experiences there.

Tiffiny has worked at B&W for the last three summers

Working at B&W has reinforced how important it is to work as a team. Everyone has their individual job working towards specific goals. Even though everyone is doing something different, it is so important to realize how your one job contributes to the overall success of the company. Nothing will get accomplished unless all departments can learn to work together in harmony. Whether you are a maintenance employee working to assure a machine gets running smoothly or an engineer working on designing the next fixture to be used, your role is crucial. No one job is more important than another; it does not matter if it involves a college education or technical skills, or if it is on the factory floor or in the office, every job is critical for smooth operation.

I have been able to narrow down what I want to do with my career from my experience. I am learning what I find intellectually stimulating and what I would hate doing for the rest of my life. From this, I hope to find a career I enjoy upon graduation.

There are a lot of fellow Buckeyes up at B&W facility in Euclid, Ohio. But my supervisor this summer was a Michigan fan. It’s funny to think that I would report to some who worships that “state up north”. But after working with him, I realized that maybe not all Michigan fans are crazy. Putting aside our Ohio State & Michigan rivalry, I have a great deal of respect for my supervisor.  I’m hoping maybe he’ll see the light and become a Buckeye fan.


Leave a Reply

